A Fitness Perspective

ErinGetting into the fitness spirit is hard when you are trying to balance a hundred other things on the side.

Erin McCullough, a university sport player and avid exerciser, let me ask her a few questions on how she stays fit all year round:

 

 

 

What does staying in shape mean to you?
It means being able to run five miles and still want more. I really like to feel good about myself and I like knowing that others think I look good.

What sort of physical activity do you engage in?
I used to play hockey for Salve Regina University but I still play forward position in soccer. Soccer requires a lot of running so I like to keep my endurance up throughout the year.

How do you stay in shape during the cold winters?
I try to do crunches and push-ups everyday to keep my body toned. I love to run, so whenever the weather is bearable I get out there.

Can you give us an idea of  your regular eating plan?
I don’t think about my eating too much. If I want it, I eat it. I stay in good enough shape that it allows me to have an extra cookie, or snack a little throughout the day.

What comes first: school work, sports, or exercising on your own?
Exercising has become a part of my life. I don’t think of it as a inconvenient chore but more of a part of my day. The same way that I brush my teeth, get dressed, or make dinner everyday – I do some quick moves in the living room as well. The same goes for school work and soccer,  I signed up for these things – so, I’ve got to finish them too.

Thanks Erin!

Leave a Reply

